Third times the charm

As I have put in a previous post; updating your CV when looking for work seams to be a constant thing and some times you need to change the layout completely to get the results that you wanted. When I first started this year I was told that because I was on a creative course my CV had to look creative too. Because it would give employers an idea of my style and if I used a design tool like Indesign it would also show my knowledge of different software. But the issue I found was when ever I would send a professional company that CV, I wouldn’t get a reply. They would probably take one look at it and thinking to them selfs she doesn’t take herself seriously so why should we?

This led me to change my CV to a more traditional format, but containing information more tailored  to a media position, playing to my strengths in Photography, customer relations, team work and my knowledge of different software.

Previously I had zero offers for interviews, with some companies simply not replying at all. This was probably out of nine jobs and internships.

In the space of a week, I have had phone calls and emails from five companies to talk about a potential job or placement. And I have had two interviews so far. I would be the first to admit that those are out of twelve applications submitted the grievous week. But that being said five out of twelve is a whole lot better than nothing at all.

One thing that I have discovered from this writing and re writing of CV’s and cover letters is this, be creative in your portfolio, show examples of your work, make it look as beautiful or stylish as you like. But when it comes down to the CV, people want to know you can take yourself seriously and that you can be professional not just creative.

 

Emma Lawson’s CV

Leave a Reply

