Letter to self

Dear My Self, AKA Emma.

Well this is a little strange, having to writ to yourself about things you want to do and get from a course that barely feels like its started yet, and commenting on things I’ve done in the past in regards to media and my academic career so far. Well firstly I did not always want to do media at university, much like all small children I had other ideas to start with, like archaeology, but I think that was mostly to satisfy my ability to get messy and digging in the dirty around the back of my first primary school. My first experience of anything to do with media was during my a-levels at collage and in fact it was the creative outlet along with the analytical nature of the course that made me fall head over heals in love with it. I hope to be able to still say that music is still a big influence on my work in media, with both my AS and A2 course works being situated within a cultural mostly associated with the rock genre. The way the mood of a film or a video can be effected by the music it is accompanied with, can have an impact upon its success. For example a lot of horror films use dramatic music to  build tension towards a dramatic moment, however the use of silences within these films if used effectively can have just as great of an effect. But that being said there are many different genres of media that I enjoy, and then there are plenty of films and music which would be associated with these genres which I don’t enjoy. This would probably be due to a mixture of reasons, but I find that the more predictable a program or a film is the less I enjoy it.

While it is true that I do like to analyse media products there is also apart of me which is quite excited by the prospect of being able to produce some of my own peaces wether its creating videos or editing image. In away being able to critically analyse not only other people media but also my own will help me to develop in both my analytical capabilities and my practical skills when it come to the development of certain media products.

The main way in which I have interacted within the media is through photography and video production. There are main of my own edited videos on youtube, I made these in order to gain some small grasp and understanding of video editing which I might be able to further expand upon in my media course. I lot of the photography that I have done in the past could be considered amateurish, hopefully I will be able to expand my technical abilities in order to produces something which I will be truly proud of. This might be a little difficult as I can be extremely critical of my own productions, the website I designed and created within my A2 year even now I still pick up on issues and ideas that I could of used in the production.

I guess the main point of this would have to be that I want to be able to say that I have done something that I haven’t done before, that I have learned about something that I didn’t know existed before and that I have developed my skills with different media formats to such an extent that I am able to be successful in my pursuit for a career in media. Even if at this every moment in time I cant quite decide on what it is I want to do after university.

Sincerely My Self, AKA Emma

Leave a Reply

